Friday February 16 officially sees the start of the 2018 Cricketer Village Cup with the draw taking place from 11am in the Committee Room at Lord’s.

Exactly 300 clubs will enter into the draw which represents the second consecutive year-on-year rise following rule changes which took effect for the 2017 competition. The Cricketer chief executive Guy Evans-Tipping said: “It is fantastic to see The Cricketer Village Cup bucking the trend when it comes to recreational participation. It is a truly wonderful competition with a final at Lord’s such an enticing prospect for every club cricketer.”

Round 1 will be taking place on April 29 with some teams starting in round 2 on May 13. Reed CC were the 2017 winners, easily overcoming reigning champions Sessay by 7 wickets. Sessay, though now in a ECB premier league, are still entering the competition and fielding a second-string side, as now permitted following the 2017 rule changes.

You can follow the draw live on Facebook and Twitter from The Cricketer’s feed from 11am. The draw will be published in full on Friday on

Notes to editors:

The Cricketer Village Cup has been run by The Cricketer since 1972, with every final having been held at Lord’s. The competition was the brainchild of Ben and Belinda Brocklehurst, former owners of The Cricketer.

Owzat-Cricket, Pipers Crisps, Gunn & Moore and Bola are all sponsors for the 2018 Village Cup